The Fleet Reserve Association is the leading voice of the enlisted Sea Service personnel on Capitol Hill and has been since 1924. A Congressionally chartered, non-profit organization that represents the interests of the Sea Service community before the U.S. Congress, the Association's membership is comprised of current and former enlisted members of the U.S. Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard. FRA was chartered as the Fleet Reserve Association in 1924 and, after more that 80 years, FRA remains dedicated to its primary mission of serving the interests of current and former enlisted Navy, Maine Corps and Coast Guard personnel.

Norfolk Branch 5 is one of the original branches of the FRA, in continuous operation since November 1924. For more than 80 years, the members of Branch 5 have been supporting those issues confronting our members and supporting patriotic activities in our community.


The following shipmates have completed a five-year anniversary as members of the FRA. This qualifies these shipmates for continuous membership awards. Shipmates, if you come to the next meeting, the Branch President will be more than happy to present you with your well earned award.

Membership pins:
30 years - Godfrey Freeman
35 years - Bernard Liedl and George Pilkerton

Shipmate Art Bartlett recently received his
50 year FRA membership pin from Branch 5
President Ed Klavenski

Members of FRA Branch 5, widows, widowers, mothers, grandmothers, sisters, daughters, stepdaughters and granddaughters not less than 16 years of age, fathers, grandfathers, brothers, sisters, sons, stepsons, grandsons of Branch 5 members are eligible for a $500 scholarship if they meet the following criteria:

1. Enrolled/accepted in an accredited institution of learning.

2. Provide a transcript from high school or college if currently attending college.

3. Write an essay of 300-500 words entitled “What a College Education means to Me”.

4. Sponsored by a member of the Tidewater Area Council.

Branch 5 will be the sponsor. Contact the Secretary by email secrbr5@cox.net or phone
(757-853-1586) to get an application. The application and other materials mentioned above must be returned to the Branch 5 Secretary not later than 1 July 2016. Selectee(s) will be announced at the July meeting of the Tidewater Area Council and notified by Branch 5 that same day. Funds will be distributed to the appropriate college on 31 July 2016.

What We Do Upcoming Events LAFRA Newsletter Photo Gallery Home Contact Us Helpful Links Join Us Home Photos and Upcoming Events Naval History Interesting Stuff Our Supporters Useful Links